Write2Camp in Europe

Come and literally join me on my literary journey!

I LOVE my E-bike!

6 Comments

I have never before mentioned a product I use, but this time I can’t help myself.

If you should ever consider buying an electric bicycle, you might just be overwhelmed by all the choices that are on the market. I was.  I try to support local stores, so I set off visiting one bike shop after the other. All of them offered e-bikes, but not one of them had a folding e-bike in their itinerary. The sales person usually began to leaf through his catalog to present me a folding e-bike starting off with about 2000 Euros ($ 2232.90). Wow… that was out of my league.

Although I was skeptical about buying a bike before I could test ride it, I decided to check the internet.

In my search, I listed:  compact fold, maximum loading, minimum mileage/kilometer range and price. The E-bike Xia was the only one that showed up.

And amazingly enough … the price was right! https://www.germanxia.de/

Since we camp a lot, I needed a bike that could easily fold and be stored in the back of our Nissan. The maximum weight was important, since I’m not exactly a light weight and I do carry heavy camera equipment with me. A big added plus is when the battery is fully charged… the e-bike runs up to 138 kilometers!

I love LOVE my e-bike. For the first time in years, I have no knee pain after a bike tour. The comfortable upright position, without having to lean on my wrists is perfect.  And it’s easy to get off and on the saddle, because of the low slung bar.

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT E-BIKES

Yes, There Are Age Limits: At least 40 US states and Canadian provinces have a minimum operator age for e-bikes, typically 14 or 16 years of age. In Alberta, 12 year olds can operate an e-bike, but in Quebec, you must be 18.

Speedy Enough: Think cars are that much faster than an e-bike? Think again. The average car speed for around-town driving is 18 mph. Average e-bike speed? A very respectable 15 mph.

Yes, They Still Count as Exercise: Though they’re pedal assist, an e-bike can still give you a workout, improving your cardiovascular health, fitness, and aerobic capacity.

Here are a few photos of my Stallion… Ah… s’cuse me, my e-bike. I call him Silver, as in the Long Ranger’s horse … Hi Yo Silver! My boomer friends will surely know what I’m talking about.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: Angelika Schwarz

I'm an author on the go. Give me a caravan, laptop, camera, and Hubby at my side, ( not exactly in that order), and I'm on a 'roll'.

6 thoughts on “I LOVE my E-bike!

  1. Wow, what a marvellous contraption! The perfect solution for those of us with chronic knee pain. I’ll have to look into this! Thanks for the good information, Angelika!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. But be careful Sharon. An e-bike takes getting used to. Even if you should just try it at a store, take it slow. My tip: Put the gear in first and turn the battery off till you reach about 5 miles per hour, then turn the battery on number one. That way the transition is smoother.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You really sound thrilled with Silver, Angelika. I’ve been hearing great reports of people who are so happy with their e-bikes. You know Münster is known as the bicycle capital of Germany. There’s a huge hill leading up our village and, when e-bikes first came out, I couldn’t understand why these older people were whizzing past me until my husband pointed out that they were riding e-bikes. I don’t think I could live it down if I ever got one. But I have been checking them out, on the sly. They’d be great for hills! You gave a really comprehensive report there. Very helpful. Way to go, girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wrote the above comment, Angelika. I couldn’t get into Word Press for some strange reason.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Someone. It used to be almost a stigma to drive an e-bike… but now, I noticed on our last vacation, more young people have them too. Infact I saw entire groups of people, under 40, with e-bikes. I’ve even seen them on mountain bikes! So go ahead, Someone. Pass the seniors on your e-bike. lol… I’ll wave to you when you pass me. 🙂

    Like

  6. Well, Someone, I see your comment so apparently it worked. Thanks so much for taking the time to comment. Happy biking to you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

