Write2Camp in Europe

Come and literally join me on my literary journey!

MY LAST ROSE

4 Comments

My  Last Rose

While on a stroll in my windswept yard,

I searched for plants that weren’t hit too hard.

For rain, hail and winds stripped and cropped,

Dainty rose pedals till they dropped.

But then a sun ray shone down from the sky,

And something pink and shiny caught my eye.

 

I pushed back the fern and lifted a branch,

To see sparkly rain drops twinkle and dance,

Upon a single rose – spread in full blossom, 

A delicate beauty – quietly awesome.

For nothing is quite as lovely or shines much brighter,

Than when frail life morphs into a damn good Fighter.


 

My pink rose.

by Angelika Schwarz

More of my poems and short stories  are available in my series: Brighten a Senior’s Day I, II, III. 

Uplifting, entertaining and fun reading from the ages of 9 to 99.  

If you enjoyed this little poem,  

please do let me know, and if you like: share  

Thanks!

 

Author: Angelika Schwarz

I'm an author on the go. Give me a caravan, laptop, camera, and Hubby at my side, ( not exactly in that order), and I'm on a 'roll'.

4 thoughts on “MY LAST ROSE

  1. I love it, Angelika. Flowers can be remarkably resilient. Did you have bad storms recently? The weather is odd. It feels like autumn.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The unexpected hidden beauty is the most beautiful and treasured.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you serendipitydoit. Today it was sweltering hot, ( which is awful too…lol) but all last week we had storms. I’ think of you every time we hear of the bad weather up North. And that’s been a lot! Hope you didn’t get any flooding.

    Like

  4. Diane Ingvarsson, so true! Now that would make a good poem too. Have you ever written any poetry?

    Like

Leave a Reply

