Write2Camp in Europe

Come and literally join me on my literary journey!

Laundry Day in Kroatia

11 Comments

Mmmm, don’t you love the way laundry smells after drying it on a clothes line?

Clothes line?

What’s that?

The folks in Croatia or  Kroatia (sp?),  sure know  how laundry drying in a breeze smells like. Of course when in Kroatia, ..do as the Kroatians’ do. While we were camping along the coast line. It was so windy, our bed sheets dried within 15 minutes.small laundry

Here are some glimpses of colorful  laundry flapping under Kroatian‘s warm spring  breezes.  You see women bending over their baskets and hanging their clothes without skipping a  beat. You see  little children playing hide and seek between towels and faded blue jeans. You feel smiling eyes staring down at you while  women draw in their clothes lines between buildings, as if they were hauling in fish nets.

And you hear a concert of waving  textiles, snapping and whipping in the wind, giggling children, fast talking women, the seagull cries and always … always the sounds of waves splashing, like  a round of applause,  against the jagged gray cliffs of Kroatia.

Can you feel it? Can you hear it?

Mark was kind enough to let me use his laundry  song ‚ Another Man’s  Laundry Hanging on your Line to accompany my little clip. Go on — listen to his lyrics, they are a hoot. And if you want to hear more of his work, here is his link: http://www.mjhibbett.co.uk/songs/

 

 

Author: Angelika Schwarz

I'm an author on the go. Give me a caravan, laptop, camera, and Hubby at my side, ( not exactly in that order), and I'm on a 'roll'.

11 thoughts on “Laundry Day in Kroatia

  1. I really loved your video and I am also someone who notices laundry hanging on the lines wherever we travel…I love the sights, sounds and smells! I’m glad you’re back!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad your post came through. I guess my site is a little rusty. lol… Actually I feel like I’m on vacation now. I finally have time to go through the photos and work on my blog. Thank you for commenting Sharon.

    Like

  3. Welcome back! That was such fun. 😀 Hanging clothes out to dry seems to be the norm in most of Europe, probably because hydro is incredibly expensive and few people have electric dryers. I used to do it when I was younger, but hauling a laundry basket up the stairs is a tough chore for my bad knee, so I wimp out and use the machine. Delicates are air-dried in the basement.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks Debbie. I hang out bed sheets … but not underwear. They get too stiff…. …lol. No need to get into that…Oh brother another pun. I better stop writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very nice video…. i like the music!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you Danny! Thank you for commenting too. Sending a hug.

    Like

  7. Wish I was there too. It sounds heavenly. Your descriptions paint a picture that’s is so vivid. Love reading your work.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dee, thank you and thank you for commenting. I’ll be posting more on Croatia. We discovered some beautiful camping spots. I love sharing with you all.

    Like

  9. Haha love the laundry song – laughed so much at the lyrics!!

    Like

  10. This is a very good tip especially to those new to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise info… Thank you for sharing this one. A must read post!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you so much Eustolia for your kind words. Unfortunately I’ve been neglecting my blog a bit, but after reading comments like yours… I feel motivated again. Thank you.

    Like

Leave a comment